Skip to section navigation

Graduate Students Travel to Germany to Meet Nobel Laureates

June 21, 2006

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Sixty outstanding graduate research students are attending the 56th Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates and Students in Lindau, Germany, June 25–30 to participate in chemistry activities with Nobel Laureates.

Continuing a tradition established in 1951 by the late Count Lennart Bernadotte, Nobel Laureates in chemistry, physics or medicine/physiology convene annually in Lindau to have open and informal meetings with more than 350 students and young researchers from around the world. While traditionally the meetings rotate by discipline each year; this year's event will be focus on chemistry.

The sixty students are sponsored by the U.S. Army, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU). The participants were selected among students working at federal facilities or universities funded by NSF or DOE and from among ORAU’s university consortium members.

All participants will travel to Washington, D.C., for a meeting at DOE headquarters before leaving for Germany on Friday, June 23. On Saturday, June 24, the students will arrive in the historic medieval island city, rich in western European culture, located at the common border of Austria, Germany and Switzerland. Students will attend the opening ceremony for the 56th Lindau Meeting on Sunday, June 25.

Each day, Laureates will lecture on topics of their choice during morning sessions. The primary purpose of the meeting is to allow participants—most of whom are students—to benefit from informal interaction with the Nobel Prize winners in attendance. Therefore, in the afternoons, Laureates will preside over informal sessions exclusively for students. During lunches and dinners, Laureates will join participants at local restaurants for additional informal discussions. Various social events are also on the agenda, including an evening dinner gala, to allow participants to meet attendees from other countries around the world.

On June 30, participants will travel by ferry to the Isle of Mainau for the closing ceremonies at the baroque Mainau Castle, the residence of the Bernadotte family, Swedish patrons of the Lindau Meeting. A Web site has been set up to post daily information while students are attending the meeting.

Each day, photos and a summary of events will be posted. The Web address for this year’s meeting is

The Web site and travel arrangements for these participants are being administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).

Student Sponsored by U.S. Army

  • David Yeung, University of Maryland, Baltimore

Students Sponsored by U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)

  • Meghan Anzlec, Northwestern University
  • Jordan Atlas, Cornell University
  • Orianna Bretschger, University of Southern California
  • Matthew Christianson, University of Wisconsin
  • Eben Cross, Boston College
  • Allison Dennis, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Christopher Goodin, Vanderbilt University
  • Ian Harwood, University of California, San Francisco
  • Grant Johnson, Pennsylvania State University
  • Judy Kim, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Aaron Kushner, University of California, Irvine
  • Rachel Lynch, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Laura Morris, University of Cincinnati
  • Haley Pugsley, University of Washington
  • Mary Pulling, Columbia University
  • Joseph Roscioli, Yale University
  • Peter Sims, Harvard University
  • Christopher Webster, Washington State University
  • Nicholas Wigginton, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Howard Wulsin, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Students Sponsored by National Institutes of Health (NIH)

  • Shavon Clark, Texas Southern University
  • Claudette Davis, City University of New York
  • Stehpan Huffaker, NIH/University of Cambridge
  • Erica Johnson, Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Jean Lee, NIH/University of Oxford
  • Raissa Menendez-Delmestre, University of Puerto Rico
  • Andrew Patterson, NIH/George Washington University
  • Sonjae Wallace, City University of New York

Students Sponsored by National Science Foundation (NSF)

  • Timothy Anglin, University of Utah
  • Aisha Bishop, State University of New York, Stony Brook
  • Kathleen Chaffee, Southern Illinois University
  • Wallace Dillon, Jr., Alabama A&M University
  • Sarah Evans, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Daniel Farrell, Arizona State University
  • Dixie Gautreaux, Louisiana State University
  • Cody Geary, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Joel Henzie, Northwestern University
  • Karina Heredia, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Jeremiah Johnson, Columbia University
  • Eugene Kamarchik, University of Chicago
  • Susan Kloek, University of Washington
  • Jonathan Mullin, Iowa State University
  • Kristi O’Neal, University of Pittsburgh
  • Sara Ray, The Ohio State University
  • Christopher Rivera, University of Southern California
  • Anatoliy Sokolov, University of Iowa
  • David Strasfeld, University of Wisconsin
  • Christopher Thode, Pennsylvania State University
  • Jennie Thomas, University of California, Irvine
  • Christine Winschel, Virginia Commonwealth University

Students Sponsored by Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU)

  • Scott Borella, University of Tennessee
  • Travis Bray, Auburn University
  • Tiffany Epps, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • January Haile, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Julia Keller, University of Florida
  • Samuel Mugavero, University of South Carolina
  • Christine Neipert, University of South Florida
  • Ashley Ringer, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Tomekia Simeon, Jackson State University

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Director, Communications
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Manager, Communications
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953

Nicole Merrifield
Communications Specialist, Communications
Work: 865.241.0482
Cell: 865.323.5762