Skip to section navigation

Nobel Laureates Talk Physics with Brightest Young Scientists at Conference in Lindau, Germany

July 11, 2008

OAK RIDGE, Tenn.—Sixty outstanding graduate research students attended the 58th Annual Lindau Meeting of Nobel Laureates and Students in Lindau, Germany, from June 29 through July 4. The event featured lectures and discussions on physics.

Continuing a tradition established in 1951 by the late Count Lennart Bernadotte, Nobel Laureates in chemistry, physics or medicine/physiology convene annually in Lindau to conduct open and informal meetings with more than 500 graduate students and junior researchers from around the world. Lindau is also the location for an annual meeting in economic sciences. The third of such gatherings, which will involve 14 Laureates in economic sciences, Nobel Peace Prize winner Muhammad Yunus and more than 300 of the world’s best young economists, will take place August 20–23.

The 60 students were sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), the National Science Foundation (NSF), Mars, Inc., and Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU).

During this year’s meeting, the Laureates lectured in the mornings on the topics of their choice related to physics and later participated in less-formal small-group discussions with the students in the afternoons and some evenings. The primary purpose of the meeting is to allow participants—most of whom are students—to benefit from informal interaction with the Nobel Prize winners. During lunches and dinners, Laureates joined participants at local restaurants for informal discussions. Various social events also allowed participants to meet other attendees from around the world.

In addition, the participants were able to experience the picturesque island city of Lindau, which is located at the eastern end of Lake Constance, just north of the Swiss Alps. Situated at the common border of Austria, Germany and Switzerland, Lindau is a city with a medieval history and is rich in central European culture.

Photos of events are available on the meeting’s Web site located at

The Web site and various other aspects of the event were managed by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).

Sponsor: DOE
Jessica Baumgaertel, Princeton University
Erica Caden, Drexel University
Jeremy Callner, University of Illinois, Chicago
Rozmin Daya, Southern Methodist University
Golda Hukic-Markosian, University of Utah
Daniel Lascar, Argonne National Laboratory
Ron Lin, University of California, Los Angeles
Matthew Meixner, University of Notre Dame
Edward Nissen, Northern Illinois University
Christopher Orton, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Frank Petruzielo, Cornell University
Jason Reppert, Clemson University
Stephanie Sears, West Virginia University
Rachel Slaybaugh, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Jason Snyder, Washington University in St. Louis
Matthew Vannette, Ames Laboratory

Sponsor: NSF
Alicia Aarnio, Vanderbilt University
Nicole Brimhall, Brigham Young University
Jeffrey Carter, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Charlie Conroy, Princeton University
Sean Couch, University of Texas, Austin
Jessica Evans, New Mexico State University
Nicholas Guggemos, University of Southern California
Charlotte Hinkle, The Ohio State University
Shawn Huston, North Carolina State University
Sonja Ingram, Temple University
Yoav Kallus, Cornell University
Enrique Montano, University of Arizona
Van Nguyen, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Brian Page, Indiana University
Jill Pinter, Michigan State University
Ryan Rios, Southern Methodist University
Amy Roberts, Notre Dame University
Jessica Schiffman, Drexel University
Christine Schwerdtfeger, University of Chicago
Albert Swiston, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel Theis, University of North Dakota
Zorawar Wadiasingh, Rice University
Amy Wakim, University of Rochester
James Younkin, Northern Illinois University

Sponsor: Mars, Inc.
Dan Maronde, University of Central Florida
Jonathan Pellish, Vanderbilt University
Orlando Rios, University of Florida
Efrain Rodriguez, Los Alamos National Laboratory
Danilo Scepanovic, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Amber Young, University of Arizona

Sponsor: ORAU
James Alsup, University of Tennessee
Kaia Buhl, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Rasheen Connell, Howard University
David Fobes, Tulane University
Russell Lake, Clemson University
David Miller, Michigan State University
Tiffany Pawluk, Southern Illinois University
Peter Reis, University of North Dakota
Margaret Shanafield, Desert Research Institute
Wilson Smith. University of Georgia
Francisco Sola-Lopez, University of Puerto Rico
Paul Stokes, University of Central Florida
Joshua Wickman, University of Delaware
T. Gavin Williams, University of North Texas

Media Contacts

Pam Bonee
Director, Communications
Work: 865.576.3146
Cell: 865.603.5142

Wendy West
Manager, Communications
Work: 865.576.0028
Cell: 865.207.7953

Nicole Merrifield
Communications Specialist, Communications
Work: 865.241.0482
Cell: 865.323.5762