5th International REAC/TS Symposium: The Medical Basis for Radiation Accident Preparedness

Skip site navigation and move to main content of page.


Makoto Akashi, M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Director, National Institute of Radiological Sciences (NIRS)
Chiba, Japan

Sadanori Akita, MD, PhD
Nagasaki University Hospital
Nagasaki, Japan

Jean-Christoph Amabile, MD
Medical Division,
French Defense Radiation Protection Service
Cedex, France

Armin Ansari, PhD, CHP
Physical Scientist, Health Physicist
Radiation Studies Branch (RSB), EHHE,
National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH),
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Luis Barriga MD, FRCR
Grupo Oncomedica
Instituto Oncologico de Lima SA
Centro de Radioterapia de Lima SA
Centro Oncologico Los Olivos SAC
Prevencer SAC
Lima, Peru

Luiz Bertelli, PhD
Internal Dosimetrist
Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL)
Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

Marc Benderitter
Institut de Radioprotection et de la Surete Nucléaire (IRSN)
Cedex, France

Jean-Marc Bertho, PhD
Institut de Radioprotection et de la Surete Nucléaire (IRSN)
Cedex, France

William F. Blakely, PhD
Armed Forces Radiobiology Research Institute (AFRRI),
Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences (USUHS)
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Eugene Carbaugh
Staff Scientist and Internal Dosimetry Manager
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington

Zhanat Carr, MD, PhD
Scientist, Radiation Health Program
Interventions for Healthy Environments Unit
Health Security and Environment Cluster
World Health Organzations (WHO)
Geneva, Switzerland

Doran M. Christensen, DO
Associate Director
Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site (REAC/TS)
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

Nickolas Dainiak, MD, FACP
Chairman, Department of Medicine, Bridgeport Hospital, Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Director, State of Connecticut Biodosimetry Laboratory
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Yale University School of Medicine New Haven, Connecticut USA

Harold Denton
Former Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Knoxville Tennessee USA

Daniel Flynn, MD, COL, USAR
Department of Radiation Oncology,
Holy Family Hospital & Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Ronald E. Goans, PhD, MD, MPH
Senior Consultant, MJW Corporation
REAC/TS Senior Scientific/Medical Advisor
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

Carol J. Iddins MD
REAC/TS Staff Physician
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

Joseph J. Krol Jr
Rear Admiral, US Navy (Retired)
Associate Administrator for Emergency Operations, National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)

Pierre Laroche
French Defense Radiation Protection Service (SPRA)
Clamart, France

Volker List, MD
Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe GmbH,
Medizinische Abteilung
Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany


Gordon K. Livingston, Ph.D.
Cytogenetics Biodosimetry Laboratory,
Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site (REAC/TS)
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

Thomas MacVittie, PhD
University of Maryland School of Medicine, Department of Radiation Oncology
Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Rafael Martincic, PhD
Incident & Emergency Centre (IEC), Department of Nuclear Safety & Security
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
Vienna, Austria

Jill Renee Meara, FFPH
Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards,
Health Protection Agency
Oxon, United Kingdom

Viktor Meineke, MD, Colonel, MC
Bundeswehr Institute of Radiobiology
Munich, Germany

Kazuo Neriishi, MD
Yachiyo Hospital and
Radiation Effects Research Foundation (RERF)
Hiroshima City Yatiyo, Japan

Harry Anderson (Andy) Page
Director, Oak Ridge Institute for Science & Education (ORISE)
President, Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU)
Oak Ridge, Tennessee USA

Alexander Romanyukha PhD
Senior Health Physicist, Technical Manager
U.S. Naval Dosimetry Center

Steven L. Simon, PhD
Radiation Epidemiology Branch
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Bethesda, MD

Leif Stenke, MD
Hematology Center Karolinska,
Karolinska University Hospital
Stockholm, Sweden

Stephen L. Sugarman, MS, CHP, CHCM
Health Physics Project Manager
Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site (REAC/TS)
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

Harold Swartz MD, MSPH, PhD
Professor of Radiology and Physiology, Dartmouth Medical School
Director, Dartmouth Physically Based Biodosimetry Center for Medical Countermeasures Against Radiation
Director, EPR Center for the Study of Viable Systems
Dartmouth Medical School
Hanover, New Hampshire USA

Richard E. Toohey, PhD, CHP
Senior Scientific Advisor,
Associate Director, Independent Environmental Assessment and Verification Programs (IEAV)
Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU)
Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site (REAC/TS)
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

Nelson Valverde, MD
JLVF Consultants for Hospital & Health Management, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Consultant for the Eletronuclear Medical Assistance
Foundation - FEAM, Angra dos Reis, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Marina Vázquez, MD
Radiopathology Network,
Nuclear Regulatory Authority
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Albert L. Wiley, BNE, MD, PhD
Radiation Emergency Assistance Center/Training Site (REAC/TS)
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA