Teachers representing 10 states will apply classroom experience to federal, congressional and executive branch offices

May 23, 2018

Oak Ridge, Tenn.—Fourteen accomplished K-12 science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) teachers from across the United States have been named 2018-2019 Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellows. The fellows will spend 11 months serving in a federal agency or U.S. Congressional office in Washington, D.C., engaged in the national STEM education arena.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship (AEF) Program provides a unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 STEM educators to apply their extensive classroom knowledge and experiences to their host offices to inform federal STEM education efforts.

The 2018-2019 Einstein Fellows are as follows:

  • Brenda Bartlett, Alexandria, Virginia
  • Stephanie Harry, Hampton, Virginia
  • Cheryl Manning, Evergreen, Colorado
  • Kate McCann, Montpelier, Vermont
  • Sharon McPherson, Stafford, Virginia
  • Cammie Newmyer, Monte Vista, Colorado
  • Pascale Pinner, Hilo, Hawaii
  • Shawn Sheehan, Lewisville, Texas
  • Brian Silver, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Rachel Stagner, Portland, Oregon
  • Michelle Steever, San Jose, California
  • Kellie Taylor, Emmett, Idaho
  • Andi Webb, Fayetteville, North Carolina
  • Cinde Wirth, Columbus, Indiana

The 2018-2019 Einstein Fellows come from K-12 schools across the country and represent diverse teaching backgrounds—with expertise in computer science, engineering, science, and mathematics. Federal agencies and U.S. Congressional Offices will benefit from fellows’ real-world experiences as educators. In return, Einstein Fellows will gain understanding of the role of the Federal Government in the U.S. education enterprise, knowledge of resources available to students and educators, and broader perspectives on national education issues that can be applied to the classroom or to leadership positions in their districts or elsewhere.

The AEF Program, now in its 28th year of operation, is managed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science’s Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists in collaboration with the sponsoring agencies and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).

Current sponsoring agencies of the AEF Program include DOE, the National Science Foundation, the Library of Congress, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. In addition to sponsoring placements at DOE headquarters, DOE sponsors five placements in U.S. Congressional offices.